Thirteen Goals of a Pantheist Pagan

I’ve been working on rewording certain rituals to make them fit my pantheist pagan beliefs, but one thing I’ve always liked is Wicca’s “Thirteen Goals of a Witch.” I’ve found that it aligns with my own intentions being on this spiritual path, but words like “Craft” and “Goddess and God” don’t fit in with most non-theistic pantheist beliefs. Personally, I have no problem with the terms and am starting to view deities as archetypes and aspects of the Divine Source or even my own higher self, and spellwork as yet another form of mediation. Whatever these ideas may be for you, my Thirteen Goals of a Pantheist Pagan should suit the majority of pantheists who are seeking a spiritual home in paganism.

Thirteen Goals of a Pantheist Pagan

Know yourself.

Understand what you want, what makes you happy, and what inspires you. Realize your strengths and weaknesses. Acknowledge your belief system.

Know your path.

Study to understand your path, even if it evolves over time, and make your path a part of your daily life.

Learn and grow.

Study beyond your path. This can include everything from ancient polytheistic traditions to the latest scientific studies. Be open-minded and embrace knowledge.

Apply knowledge with wisdom.

Apply your knowledge for the benefit of all, including yourself, using common sense and respect.

Achieve balance.

Moderation in all things. Have a sacred space to come home to at the end of a busy day. Find the ideal balance between family life, career, and your spiritual path.

Keep your words in good order.

Be as good as your word. Keep promises. Be honest. State your intentions and follow through with them. Be kind.

Keep your thoughts in good order.

Positive thinking and positive affirmations make a noticeable difference in your life. Release the negative talk and focus on the good.

Celebrate life!

Bask in those feelings of awe you get when surrounded by nature or met by an endless night sky. Live life to its fullest now rather than waiting until you get that new job, lose weight, or [insert excuse here].

Attune with the cycles of Earth.

Mark the seasons and take note of the moon’s phases. Celebrate the Wheel of the Year, if you feel compelled. Eat seasonal produce, plant a garden, enjoy seasonal outdoor activities, and decorate your home with seasonal décor.

Breathe and eat correctly.

Learn to take note of your breathing. Breathe deeply. Focus on your breath during meditation. Eat intuitively and in moderation, nourishing your body and also enjoying the tastes you love.

Exercise the body.

Be mindful of healthy movement, whether you enjoy rigorous daily workouts or quiet nature walks.

Meditate.

Embrace your favorite form of meditation, whether this involves yoga, guided meditation, spellwork and rituals, prayer, or a meditative activity like coloring or knitting.

Honor Nature.

Revere and honor the Earth and/or whatever it is you view as the Divine, being mindful of the immense awe you feel in this existence.

Many of these goals are probably things you already incorporate into your spiritual practice, but if you’re new to pantheism or paganism, you may be wondering where to start, and this can be a good jumping off point.

For those wanting a visual to save or print out, here you go! I’ll also be posting this image on the new Facebook page if you’re so inclined to share. You can also give it a like in the sidebar!

13 Goals of a Pantheist Pagan

Blessed be!

 

9 thoughts on “Thirteen Goals of a Pantheist Pagan

  1. Jade,

    I’m so glad you found it useful! I’m in the process of rewriting a lot of rituals and spells to fit my pantheist beliefs, and I’ll be posting them as I go, so stay tuned! 🙂

  2. I’d love to see some of the rituals and spells you rewrite as examples. I think one of the more difficult parts for me is the balance. My career takes a lot of time, and when Brad and I see each other, I don’t usually take the time to be spiritual because I’m taking the time to be a good host/guest (depending on who goes to who’s house). I’m sure if I were more consistent I’d feel a lot more secure in my spirituality.

    1. It’s so hard to find balance. I’m still struggling with making time for my spirituality when the days seem to go by too fast and I’m busy with work and school. But I’m trying! 🙂

      And I’ll be posting rewritten material as I go along. I’m thinking of doing a Pantheist’s Grimoire and offering it as an eBook. Too early to tell, though. lol!

  3. Thanks for this. I have said I am a Pantheist Pagan Witch for years. Thankfully it appears there are more of us, a lot more of us. I respect science, but realize science doesn’t have all the answers. . . yet, and probably never will. I have seen too much in my 25+ years as a Pantheist Pagan not to realize the connections are more than mundane physical reality, yet I can’t believe in ‘gods’ as an ex Christian, raised Christian, tripped for 16 years due to conditioning to be a Christian. I see zero evidence of ‘gods’.

    1. WingedWitch,

      Thanks for the comment! It sounds like we have very similar outlooks! I love finding out that there are so many of us out there. 🙂

  4. Hi! I’m loving your blog. I just recently started investigating on what I feel spiritually and I believe we both have many things in common. What about that Pantheist’s Grimoire you wrote about? Did you ever manage to write it? I would love to read it!

    1. Hi Ginevra! I haven’t started working on it yet. 😦 I’ve had a renewed interest in this blog lately so I’m going to start updating it more, and hopefully the Pantheist’s Grimoire will come of it. I should have a big announcement coming within the month, so stay tuned! 🙂

      Jen

Leave a comment